The DAWBA primarily focuses on the common emotional, behavioral and hyperactivity disorders. The structured questions cover the criteria needed to make operationalized diagnoses of the following disorders:

  • Separation anxiety (parent and self-report)
  • Specific phobia (parent and self-report)
  • Social phobia (parent and self-report)
  • Panic disorder / agoraphobia (self-report)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (parent and self-report)
  • Obsessive compulsive disorder (parent and self-report)
  • Generalised anxiety disorder (parent and self-report)
  • Body dysmorphic disorder (parent and self-report)
  • Disruptive mood dysregulation disorder (parent and self-report)
  • Major depression (parent and self-report)
  • ADHD / hyperkinesis (parent and teacher report)
  • Oppositional defiant disorder (parent and teacher report)
  • Conduct disorder (parent, teacher and self-report)
  • Eating disorders, including anorexia, bulimia and binge eating (parent and self-report)
  • Autism spectrum disorders (parent report)
  • Tic disorders, including Tourette syndrome (parent and self-report)
  • Bipolar disorders (parent and self-report)

Clinical raters can assign “not otherwise specified” diagnoses for individuals with significant symptoms who would otherwise fall between the cracks of the current operationalised diagnoses.

Other sections collect information on substance use, psychosis-like symptoms, attachment symptoms, service use, strengths and risk factors.